What goes down should be good

It’s hard feeding kids. Not only is patience required, but a lot of time and energy.

First bites are more like slurps of runny cereal and milk. And then you have to increase texture, include variety, meats, spices, fruits or veggies? etc. etc.

(And, if you’re that mom who still feeds your kid cereal in a bottle. Please stop. Cereal should be eaten with a spoon.)

But one thing is for sure: Homemade beats anything else. Your kids should be eating whatyouare eating, albeit a little less spicier and less chunky.

I always try to feed FZ and Mayyo good stuff. Does that mean I only go organic and tote around a food mill? No. It also doesn’t mean I spend my days pureeing and freezing little pots of food. I can’t and I won’t. One thing about having kids is actually enjoying your kids.

But I do cook at home and I often take out a bit before adding the garam masala and cayenne pepper for the kids. In fact I have already started feeding Mayyo a bit of pepper just to get her tastebuds going. It helps that I still nurse her and so she is getting a taste for all things hot and spicy already.

I also want my kids to be normal, so that means some afternoons of popcorn shrimp, mac and cheese and wheat bread. Or frozen pizza. And on some days of pickyness, I have fed my kid pancakes for dinner.

Part of being a mom is going with the flow and picking your battles. I have a few no-nos when it comes to my kids’ dining habits.

-NO soda
-NO sweets until after a meal

And that’s about it. I can’t stand those parents who are anti-candy, anti-juice and anti-salt and pepper. Why don’t you just put your kid in a plastic bag and feed him flavored oxygen? Whatever happened to balance?

(Blog entry preview: Next one will be about kid-friendly recipes, so start saving the good ones to share!)

All things in moderation also goes for kids. And I wish more parents understood that instead of becoming weird food police for their kids. I once went out with some friends and brought some cereal as a snack for Mayyo. As I was offering another mom for her kid she politely refused saying her kid doesn’t eat sweets. Uh, it’s cereal, not a Snickers bar. But then again that’s your kid and you are the mom.

I agree that all kids need limitations and a routine. But life is not built on a schedule. So as long as our kids are getting everything they need, it really isn’t so important when they are getting it. Meaning if FZ only has bread for lunch, she will make up for it at dinner, or through a couple healthy snacks. Or if Mayyo skips her evening nap, then she’ll just go down for bed earlier.

Balanced kids are happier kids, so let’s lose the whip and embrace a little disorder.

Leave a Reply

