The best chocolate mug cake for a family

My husband says I give in to my children’s sweet tooth way too often. I admit I’m guilty. Because I have a ginormous sweet tooth myself. And I hate waiting until the kids go to bed to satisfy my cravings for chocolate or baked goods.

If I could, I would be baking cookies and cakes every day. But I don’t – for the sake of our waistlines. Yet all my daughter has to say is, “Can you bake cookies today?” and before she finishes her sentence I am already pulling out the flour container. What can I say, sweets are my weakness. And I enjoy baking for my kids, too.

That being said, we all know that sweets contain way too much stuff that our bodies don’t really need. So I try to bake as healthy as possible.

While looking for a quick fix for my chocolate cake craving, I came across this awesome recipe for a chocolate mug cake that you – get this – bake in the microwave. A little bit of flour? 2 tbsp cocoa powder? No eggs? Only 60 seconds in the microwave? I was sold.

The recipe I saw on the Table for Two blog was for only one cake. Now I don’t know about you, but since having kids I never bake for one anymore. More like one army. So I adapted this recipe for a family serving of mug cakes. This recipe makes 4 mug cakes. The mug sizes I used hold about 3/4 cup liquid, and I filled them to about halfway and they came out perfect. I also added applesauce to sub for oil and a little date syrup for the granulated sugar. Just to make things a little bit healthier.

Chocolate mug cake for a family

(Adapted from Table for Two blog recipe for The Moistest Chocolate Mug Cake)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup flour

3 tbsp. cocoa powder

1/2 tsp. baking powder

3 tbsp. granulated sugar PLUS 2 tbsp. date syrup

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 cup plus 2 tbsp. of milk

4 tbsp. applesauce

Optional

1 tsp. of Nutella or any hazelnut chocolate spread, dropped in the middle

1 Hershey’s Kiss dropped in the middle

Sprinkling of chocolate chips on top

Directions:

1. Whisk together flour, salt, baking powder, sugar, cocoa powder

2. Then whisk in milk, applesauce, vanilla extract and date syrup.

3. Batter should be smooth, not lumpy

4. Evenly distribute batter among cups. You can even distribute among 2 large mugs. Just make sure there is room for the cake to rise without spilling over.

5. Add any optional ingredients.

6. Microwave for 60 seconds. (90 seconds for a larger mug) Of course this all depends on the wattage of your microwave, so if you are unsure, start with 60 seconds and see how it sets. Cake should not be liquidy or jiggly. But be careful not to overbake.

7. Top with caramel sauce, whipped cream, or more chocolate! The possibilities are endless…and dangerous.

Leave a Reply

