Yes. I’m having a party after you sleep

My eldest daughter FZ recently came to us and declared she “figured” out why we make her and her siblings go to bed. 

FZ: I know you guys have fun. One time you thought I was sleeping but I heard you open the fridge and eat something.

Me: Yeah so? 

FZ: I know you guys have a party without us. 

Me: (without a bit of remorse) Yup. It’s true. We have a lot of fun.

After serving as a maid, cook, homework assistant, referee, guidance counselor, knower of all answers, and on-call book reader all day long, I think I do deserve a party after bedtime. 

My party consists of doing homework or eating ice cream. Or both. Sometimes if I’m feeling adventurous I’ll do the laundry.

But yes, I’ll admit – I’m as giddy as a schoolgirl come 8 o’clock. Sure you might think my party is pretty lame. But that’s my time. My space. My peace. 

I think it’s unfair for parents to feel like they have to want to be with their kids all the time. I mean I’m there when my kids need me, and I hope I never let them down. But I also need a chance to do my own things. I wouldn’t be a human otherwise.

Of course it’s not on their time. So I make my time. And that means I’m a stickler for bedtime. 

One day my kids will understand what my “parties” really consisted of, and they’ll probably just feel sorry for me. Until then, I’m going to live it up.

Leave a Reply

