Running from reality

I sit bewildered in front of my computer as I scroll down my Facebook newsfeed and see post after post about adults “catching” Pokemon. It’s pretty wild to think that grown-up people are obsessing over a ridiculous game.

But that’s just the reality of the world we live in today. Things go “viral.” “Likes” matter. “Comments” and “followers” are counted. Everyday “selfies” are a must. We are constantly bombarded by mindless “obsessions” to keep us moving farther away from reality.

I can’t forget the story about the couple (or a person) who fell off a cliff while taking a selfie. Or the accident caused on a major highway while a driver was playing Pokemon Go. What kind of world is this? 

As kids I remember ads running over and over again with baby dolls that pee and playdoh sets that made ice cream. When asked what we wanted for our birthdays, we just blurted out exactly what we saw on TV.

But back then, that seemed to be the extent of our obsession. Once we grew up, we didn’t care about those things anymore.

Why do we constantly feed into these activities that seem to have no limit? And no real goal, if you ask me.

It’s worrisome to me, as a parent, if I see my child constantly obsessing over something. In my opinion, we must teach our children about limits. Sure we’ll limit soda or sugary cereals, but a room full of princess-themed decor? No problem! 

I find my children are less demanding when they learn to live to deal with anything. 

Currently my middle baby, Marium, is obsessing over ponies and cats – no characters, just the animals. So I might buy her something cute with a different animal, just to get her thinking away from “only cats or ponies.” 

My son loves cars, and sure, for his birthday we bought him cars, but it’s not the only thing I’ll buy for him or let him buy every one he sees.

You might say, “Well kids have favorite animals or colors or toys, what’s wrong in indulging them?” There’s nothing wrong in getting your child a blue backpack if they like the color blue. The problem, I find, is when they think everything they own must be blue.

And once we indulge, they think they are entitled to get exactly what they want, when they want it. Because we pretty much trained them.

And, whether we or they like it or not, reality is that you won’t get exactly what you want how/when you want it. 

(Which might be a reason why so many people today can’t compromise in their marriages – but let’s leave that for another day.)

I don’t mind my kids having an imagination, but I don’t want them running away from reality. Which unfortunately, has become a big problem in our world today. Social media enables us to pick and choose how we show ourselves to the world. Our friends “like” everything we post, even if they don’t agree. And, again, we are being indulged.

If we want our kids to succeed, we must give them the tools to understand and deal with life’s ups and downs. Unless you want to give them the guarantee that you’ll always be there to pick up the pieces.

I’d rather not.

Leave a Reply

